Six faculty members win Sloan fellowships

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation has selected six Princeton faculty members to receive Sloan Research Fellowships, highly competitive, unrestricted grants for outstanding scholars and scientists early in their careers.

The recipients are:

  • Marco Battaglini, assistant professor of economics, whose fields of interest include economic theory, game theory and political economy. Battaglini has been a Princeton faculty member since 2000.
  • Niklas Beisert, assistant professor of physics, who specializes in high energy theory. Beisert came to Princeton as a research staff member in 2004 and became an assistant professor in 2005.
  • Simon Brendle, assistant professor of mathematics, whose research focuses on geometric partial differential equations, conformal and complex geometry and nonlinear wave equations. Brendle joined the Princeton faculty in 2003.
  • Coleen Murphy, assistant professor of molecular biology and the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics, who studies the process of aging. Murphy has been a Princeton faculty member since 2005.
  • Li-Shiuan Peh, assistant professor of electrical engineering, who researches interconnection networks, an increasingly important method of connecting multiple computer processors on a single chip. Peh joined the Princeton faculty in 2002.
  • Alice Shapley, assistant professor of astrophysical sciences, who studies high-redshift galaxies. Shapley joined the Princeton faculty in 2005.

The fellowships are among 116 the foundation awarded to young scientists, mathematicians and economists from 55 colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. Each winner will receive $45,000 of largely unrestricted research support to be used over a period of two years.