Six named to Board of Trustees

Princeton University has named six new members of its Board of Trustees. They are:

Kathryn Hall of San Francisco, co-chairman, co-chief executive officer and chief investment officer at Offit Hall Capital Management LLC. She earned an A.B. in economics from Princeton in 1980. She is a director of the Princeton University Investment Co. and previously served as a member of the University's Board of Trustees from 2002 to 2006.

Janet L. Holmgren of Oakland, Calif., president of Mills College. She earned her Ph.D. in linguistics from Princeton in 1974. After working as a faculty member and administrator at other institutions, she returned to Princeton in 1988 to serve as associate provost and vice provost. She has been president of Mills since 1991.

Franklin Moss of Weston, Mass., director of the Media Lab and the Jerome B. Wiesner Professor of Media Technology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He earned a BSE in mechanical and aerospace engineering from Princeton in 1971. He has been an annual giving volunteer, served on the University's Computer Science Advisory Committee for four years and currently is a member of the Leadership Council of the School of Engineering and Applied Science.

Sonia Sotomayor of New York City, a U.S. Circuit Court judge. She earned her A.B. in history from Princeton in 1976. She was awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree from the University in 2001 for her "wisdom and judgment that cross cultural boundaries."

William Walton III of Jacksonville, Fla., managing member and co-founder of Rockpoint Group LLC, a global real estate investment management firm. He earned an A.B. in economics from Princeton in 1974. He is a director of the Princeton University Investment Co. and a trustee and the president of the Princeton University Rowing Association.

Jim Williamson of Wilkes-Barre, Pa., who graduated this year with an A.B. in politics and a certificate in Chinese language. He was president of his class from his sophomore through his senior years and was a member of the University Honor Committee, serving as chair this past year. He also was on the Dean of Religious Life Selection Committee and the Whig-Clio International Relations Council. He will be working at McKinsey & Co. in Philadelphia.

The Board of Trustees elected Hall to a 10-year term as a charter trustee, while it elected Sotomayor and Walton for four years as term trustees. Princeton alumni elected Holmgren and Moss to four-year terms as alumni trustees, and the junior, senior and two youngest alumni classes elected Williamson to a four-year term as young alumni trustee. All trustees have the same power, authority and responsibilities.

Completing their terms as trustees this year were Anthony Evnin, Eileen Guggenheim, Olivier Kamanda, James McDonnell III, Louise O'Brien and Rajiv Vinnakota.

The 40-member Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall direction of the University. It approves the operating and capital budgets, supervises the investment of the University's endowment and oversees campus real estate and long-range physical planning. The trustees also exercise review and approval concerning changes in major policies, such as those in instructional programs and admission, as well as tuition and fees and the hiring of faculty members.