Princeton professors, alumnus win math awards

Jan. 22, 2008 5:54 p.m.

Two Princeton mathematics professors and a 2007 University graduate have been honored by the American Mathematical Society.

Charles Fefferman, the Herbert E. Jones Jr. '43 University Professor of Mathematics, received the Maxime Bôcher Memorial Prize for his contributions to many areas of analysis, including recent work on the Whitney extension problem. Presented every three years, the award is one of the highest distinctions in the field of analysis.

Manjul Bhargava, professor of mathematics, received the Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory, also presented once every three years. The award recognizes his "revolutionary work on higher composition laws" in relation to the work of Carl Friedrich Gauss.

Nathan Kaplan, who received his A.B. in mathematics in 2007, won the Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student for his work at Princeton. The honor, jointly awarded by the American Mathematical Society, Mathematical Society of America and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, recognized Kaplan's four research papers on algebraic number theory, three of which have been accepted for publication. Kaplan is now pursuing graduate study at the University of Cambridge.