Search committee appointed for architecture dean

Sept. 28, 2011, 4:30 p.m.

President Shirley M. Tilghman has appointed a seven-member committee to search for a new dean of Princeton's School of Architecture. Stan Allen, the school's dean since 2002, will step down at the end of the academic year to return to full-time teaching and architectural design after taking a yearlong sabbatical.

"President Tilghman and I are profoundly grateful to Dean Stan Allen, whose 10 years of superb leadership have solidified the School of Architecture's position as one of the world's most eminent centers for the study of architecture," said Provost Christopher Eisgruber. "Dean Allen's achievements, and the strength of the school as a whole, will provide his successor with special opportunities to build on the foundations that he has laid, as well as to explore new directions. This is an exciting time to be searching for a dean, and I expect that the committee will see excellent candidates."

The search committee will be chaired by Professor of Architecture Elizabeth Diller. Other members of the campus community will be: Mark Burstein, Princeton's executive vice president; Beatriz Colomina, professor of architecture; Hal Foster, the Townsend Martin, Class of 1917, Professor of Art and Archaeology; and Guy Nordenson, professor of architecture. The committee also will include Barry Bergdoll, a member of the Architecture School's Advisory Council and professor of architectural history in the Department of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University, and Bernard Tschumi, professor of architecture, planning and preservation at Columbia and former dean of its architecture graduate school. Aly Kassam-Remtulla, associate director for academic and administrative planning jointly appointed between the Office of the Provost and the Office of the Executive Vice President at Princeton, will provide staff support to the committee.  

The committee will recommend candidates to Tilghman, who will appoint the new dean, subject to approval of the Board of Trustees. The committee hopes to have a new dean in place by the beginning of the next academic year.