FACULTY AWARD: Page named APS Fellow

Jan. 28, 2014 12:08 p.m.

Lyman Page, the Henry De Wolf Smyth Professor of Physics and department chair, was recently named a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS). Nominated by the APS' astrophysics division, Page was cited for his "leadership in precision measurements of the cosmic microwave background, culminating in the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) experiment, which has enabled precise determinations of the fundamental cosmological parameters, including the geometry, age and composition of the universe." Page was among 248 new fellows elected for exceptional contributions to physics.