FACULTY HONOR: Deaton, Fiske elected to American Philosophical Society

Two Princeton University faculty members and a University alumnus were among 33 new members recently elected to the American Philosophical Society (APS), the nation's oldest scholarly organization. Angus Deaton, the Dwight D. Eisenhower Professor of International Affairs and a professor of economics and international affairs, was inducted into the APS' social sciences class. Susan Fiske, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Psychology and a professor of public affairs, was also inducted into the social sciences class. Robert Haselkorn, a professor at the University of Chicago and a member of Princeton's Class of 1956, was elected to the biological sciences class. Candidates for APS membership are nominated by existing members and elected for extraordinary accomplishments in their fields.