FACULTY AWARD: Fisch wins Hannes Alfvén Prize for plasma physics contributions

March 23, 2015 10:45 a.m.

The European Physical Society (EPS) has named physicist Nathaniel Fisch winner of the 2015 Hannes Alfvén Prize. Fisch, director of the Princeton Program in Plasma Physics and professor and associate chair of astrophysical sciences at Princeton University, will receive the honor in June at the annual meeting of the EPS Division of Plasma Physics in Lisbon, Portugal. The prize, named for 1970 Nobel Laureate Hannes Alfvén, goes each year to a person who has contributed greatly to the advancement of plasma physics or shows promise of doing so in the future; Fisch is being honored for his fundamental studies of wave-particle interactions and for predicting new plasma phenomena.