Rosen and White elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Princeton philosopher Gideon Rosen and cancer biologist Eileen White, as well as many Princeton alumni and members of Princeton's larger academic community, have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among the 250 leaders in academia, the arts, business, government and public affairs elected this year in their respective fields.

“We honor these artists, scholars, scientists and leaders in the public, non-profit and private sectors for their accomplishments and for the curiosity, creativity and courage required to reach new heights,” said David Oxtoby, President of the Academy, in a press release. “We invite these exceptional individuals to join in the Academy’s work to address serious challenges and advance the common good.”

Newly elected members Gideon Rosen and Eileen White

Left: Gideon Rosen, Princeton's Stuart Professor of Philosophy and a 1992 Ph.D. alumnus of Princeton

Right: Eileen White, associate director of the Princeton Branch of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research


Gideon Rosen

Rosen, Princeton's Stuart Professor of Philosophy and a 1992 Ph.D. alumnus of Princeton, joined the Princeton faculty in 1993. He researches metaphysics, the philosophy of mathematics, ethics, meta-ethics and moral philosophy. He co-authored A Subject With No Object with John Burgess and was co-editor of the 2015 issue of The Norton Introduction to Philosophy. Rosen also chaired Princeton's Council of the Humanities from 2006 to 2014 and directed the Program in Linguistics from 2010 to 2014. 

Eileen White

In addition to serving as the associate director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Princeton Branch, White is the deputy director, chief scientific officer and associate director of basic research at the Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey and the Board of Governors Professor in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry at Rutgers University. She has previously been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Microbiology. Her research focuses on identifying how tumor cells survive, reproduce and evade the immune system, with a goal of finding new treatments for cancer.

Six other members of Princeton's past and present faculty were selected as new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences: 

Mung Chiang, the former Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical Engineering, now a visiting scholar and the president of Perdue University.

Camillo De Lellis, a lecturer with the rank of professor at Princeton and a faculty member of the Institute for Advanced Study.

Kenneth Intriligator, a former member of the Institute for Advanced Study and former Princeton lecturer.

Tracy K. Smith, the former director of Princeton’s Program in Creative Writing and chair of the University’s Lewis Center for the Arts.

John Vandermeer, a former visiting scholar.

Akshay Venkatesh, a lecturer with the rank of professor at Princeton and a faculty member at the Institute for Advanced Study, as well as a 2002 Ph.D. graduate in mathematics.

Newly elected alumni

Many Princeton alumni are also new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences: 

  • Gordon Chang of the Class of 1970
  • Julianne Dalcanton, a 1995 Ph.D graduate in astrophysics
  • Frank J. Doyle of the Class of 1985
  • Glennys R. Farrar, a 1971 Ph.D. graduate in physics
  • Charles F. Gammie, a 1992 Ph.D graduate in astrophysics
  • Harold Y. Hwang, a 1997 Ph.D. graduate in physics
  • Suzan van der Lee, a 1996 Ph.D. graduate in geology and geophysical sciences
  • Bridget Terry Long of the Class of 1995
  • Carlos Lozada, 1997 MPA graduate of Princeton's School for Public and International Affairs (SPIA)
  • Helene C. Muller-Landau, a 2001 Ph.D. graduate in ecology and evolutionary biology (EEB)
  • Serena Ng, a 1993 Ph.D. graduate in economics
  • Neil R. Powe of the Class of 1976
  • Xiao-Gang Wen, a 1987 Ph.D. graduate in physics
  • Catherine Wilson, a 1977 Ph.D. graduate in philosophy
  • Melanie Matchett Wood, a 2009 Ph.D. graduate in mathematics

The new members will be inducted into the Academy in September 2024, at a ceremony in Cambridge, Massachusetts.