University names nine new trustees

June 19, 2002 8:33 a.m.

Princeton University has named nine new members of its Board of Trustees, including a long-time community activist from Trenton, two federal legislators and the former president of Harvard University.

Stephen A. Oxman was elected by the board as a charter trustee for a 10-year term. Five new trustees, Kathryn Hall, Preston Haskell, Mellody Hobson, Neil Rudenstine and U.S. Sen. Paul Sarbanes, were elected by the board to four-year terms as term trustees. Alumni elected three board members, Charles H. Brown, Martin P. Johnson and U.S. Rep. James A. Leach, to four-year terms.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the finances and funds of Princeton University. It approves the operating and capital budgets, supervises the investment of the University's endowment, and oversees all campus real estate and long-range physical planning. The trustees also exercise a prior review and approval concerning changes in major policies, such as those in instructional programs and admission policies, as well as tuition and fees and the hiring of faculty members.

For more information about Princeton's new trustees, click here .

Contact: Marilyn Marks (609) 258-3601