Three selected as AAAS fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science has selected three members of the Princeton University community as fellows in recognition of their "efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished."

Richard Hawryluk, deputy director of the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, was recognized "for pioneering contributions to the physics of deuterium-tritium plasmas, and for outstanding scientific leadership of the experiments on the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor." Hawryluk has worked at the laboratory since receiving his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1974. He has been a fellow of the American Physical Society since 1986.

Leonid Kruglyak, a professor of ecology and evolutionary biology and a resident faculty member in Princeton's Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics, was cited "for distinguished contributions to the study of variation in the human genome and for pioneering genetic studies of gene expression variation." A member of Princeton's class of 1987, Kruglyak received his Ph.D. from the University of California-Berkeley in 1990 and conducted research at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the University of Washington before returning to Princeton in 2005.

Gertrud Schüpbach
, the Henry Fairfield Osborn Professor of Biology, was honored "for distinguished contributions to the field of developmental biology, particularly for elucidating maternal genes and molecules that determine embryo polarity and control meiosis in Drosophila." Schüpbach received her Ph.D. from the University of Zurich in 1978 and came to Princeton in 1981. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2005.

The three are among 471 newly selected fellows nationwide. They will be presented with an official certificate and a rosette pin on Feb. 16 at the association's annual meeting in San Francisco. The association is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.