Princeton faculty admitted to National Academy of Sciences

Three Princeton faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences this year. They are among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing accomplishments in original research.

The inductees are: Emily Carter, the Arthur W. Marks '19 Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Applied and Computational Mathematics; José Scheinkman, the Theodore A. Wells '29 Professor of Economics; and, as a foreign associate, Rosemary Grant (United Kingdom), senior research biologist in ecology and evolutionary biology.

Two faculty members at the Institute for Advanced Study who have strong ties to Princeton also were elected: Eric Maskin, who won the 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics, and Nathan Seiberg. Maskin is a visiting lecturer with rank of professor in economics at Princeton, and Seiberg is a visiting lecturer with rank of professor in physics at Princeton.

Membership in the academy is one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States. Those elected bring the total number of members to 2,041 and foreign associates to 397.