Five elected to National Academy of Sciences

Five Princeton faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences this year. They are among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing accomplishments in original research.

The inductees are: Bruce Draine, professor of astrophysical sciences; Peter Grant, the Class of 1877 Professor of Zoology and professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; Philip Johnson-Laird, the Stuart Professor of Psychology; Stephen Pacala, the Frederick D. Petrie Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and director of the Princeton Environmental Institute; and David Spergel, the Charles A. Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation and professor of astrophysical sciences.

Established in 1863, the National Academy of Sciences now has 2,025 members.