Two elected to National Academy of Sciences

Two Princeton faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences this year. They are among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The inductees are: Sun-Yung Alice Chang, professor of mathematics; and Francois Morel, the Albert G. Blanke Jr. Professor of Geosciences.

They will be inducted into the academy next April during its 147th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Membership in the academy is one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States. Established in 1863, the academy now has 2,150 active members.