FACULTY AWARDS: Four elected to National Academy of Sciences

Four Princeton faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences this year. They are David Gabai, the Hughes-Rogers Professor of Mathematics; Sara McLanahan, the William S. Tod Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs; Loren Pfeiffer, senior research scholar in electrical engineering; and H. Vincent Poor, dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science and the Michael Henry Strater University Professor of Electrical Engineering. The inductees are among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates chosen in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. They will be inducted into the academy next April.