Three elected to American Philosophical Society

Three Princeton scholars are among 38 people recently elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society.

The Princeton honorees are: David Botstein, the Anthony B. Evnin '62 Professor of Genomics and director of the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics; Susan Naquin, professor of history and East Asian studies; and Peter Sarnak, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Mathematics.

The Philadelphia-based organization, founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743, is the country's oldest learned society. The society engages leading scholars, scientists and professionals in opportunities for multidisciplinary, intellectual fellowship, and it supports research, discovery and education through grants, lectures, publications, prizes and exhibitions.