Three elected to American Philosophical Society

Three Princeton scholars are among 49 people recently elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society.

The Princeton honorees are: Philip Johnson-Laird, the Stuart Professor of Psychology; John Nash, a senior research mathematician in the Department of Mathematics; and John Wilmerding, the Christopher Binyon Sarofim '86 Professor in American Art.

The Philadelphia-based organization is the country's oldest learned society. It was founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743 and currently has 943 members. The society engages leading scholars, scientists and professionals in opportunities for multidisciplinary, intellectual fellowship, and it supports research, discovery and education through grants, lectures, publications, prizes and exhibitions.