Students win Fulbrights to study or teach abroad

June 9, 2010, 11:22 a.m.

Eleven members of Princeton's graduating class of 2010, five graduate students and five other recent alumni have been awarded Fulbright grants to study or teach abroad for the 2010-11 academic year.

The 2010 graduates and the countries in which they will study are: Andrew Davis, Russia; Thu-Huong Ha, Turkey; Colton Heward-Mills, Japan; Robert Madole, Germany; Raaj Mehta, Ecuador; Sarah Mousa, Egypt; John Nelson, Russia; Lillian Nordahl, China; Zachary Ruchman, Jordan; Maria Shpolberg, Poland; and Avion Tai, Brazil.

The graduate students are: Micaela Baranello, Austria; Hannah-Louise Clark, Algeria, France and the United Kingdom; Gregory Johnsen, Egypt; Bryan Lowe, Japan; and Gregory Seiffert, China.

The other recent alumni are: Theodore Beers of the class of 2009, Oman; Jeylan Erman of the class of 2008, Germany; Anita Gupta of the class of 2008, Jamaica; Christian Schlegel of the class of 2009, Germany; and Jiwon Yhee of the class of 2009, South Korea.

The Fulbright program was established in 1946 and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and U.S. Department of Education. The program provides funding for more than 1,500 American students to study, teach or conduct research abroad.

Undergraduate students or recent alumni who are interested in the applying for Fulbright grants for the 2011-12 academic year may contact Professor of Near Eastern Studies Emeritus Norman Itzkowitz at or Lynn Kuderka, administrative assistant in the Office of International Programs, at Graduate students may contact Elaine Willey, academic affairs specialist in the Office of the Dean of the Graduate School, at