Student Fulbright winners to study and teach abroad

Fourteen members of Princeton's graduating Class of 2013, eight graduate students and three recent alumni were awarded Fulbright grants in the spring to study or teach abroad for the 2013-14 academic year.

The 2013 graduates and the countries in which they will be studying and teaching are: Lily Akerman, Ireland; Molly Brean, Russia; Charles Brower, India; Sarah Xiyi Chen, South Korea; Courtney Crumpler, Brazil; Chloe Ferguson, Macau; Sarah Furgatch, Spain; Monica Greco, Jordan; Audrey Hall, Argentina; Rebecca Khalandovsky, Israel; Grace Kim, Turkey; Carolina Núñez, Chile; Young-joo Park, Germany; and Eric Silberman, Poland.   

The graduate students are: Matthew Birkhold, Germany; Daniel Burton-Rose, China; Miriam Chusid, Japan; Teresa Davis, Argentina; Abigail Newman, Belgium; Katherine Siemon, China; Melissa Teixeira, Brazil; and Stephanie Tung, China.

The recent alumni are Katherine Anne Costello of the Class of 2012, Turkey; Tal Eisenzweig of the Class of 2012, Canada; and Shivani Radhakrishnan of the Class of 2011, Russia.

The Fulbright program was established in 1946 and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Department of Education. The program provides funding for more than 1,500 American students to study, teach or conduct research abroad.

Princeton undergraduate students or recent alumni who are interested in applying for Fulbrights may contact Deirdre Moloney, director of fellowship advising in the Office of International Programs, at [email protected], or Barbara MacFarland, administrative assistant in the Office of the Dean of the College, at [email protected]. Graduate students may contact Elaine Willey, assistant dean in the Office of the Dean of the Graduate School, at [email protected].