FACULTY AWARD: American Physical Society honors four faculty

Oct. 18, 2010, 4:48 p.m.

Four Princeton faculty members have been honored by the American Physical Society with national awards for 2011. James Stone, professor of astrophysical sciences and applied and computational mathematics, will receive the Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics for, in part, "his pioneering work in computational magnetohydrodynamics." Michael Romalis, professor of physics, will receive the Francis M. Pipkin Award for, in part, "using ingenious high precision measurements ... and other new fundamental spin interactions." Alexander Polyakov, the Joseph Henry Professor of Physics, will receive the Lars Onsager Prize for, in part, "outstanding contributions to theoretical physics, and especially for the remarkable ideas … concerning conformal field theory." A. J. Stewart Smith, dean for research, will receive the W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics for "leadership in the measurement of kaon decay properties and in particular for the  discovery and  measurement of K+→π+vv." Polyakov will be honored at the society's annual meeting centered on condensed matter and materials in March in Dallas. Stone, Romalis and Smith will receive their awards at the society's meeting focused on particle and nuclear physics and astrophysics in April in Anaheim, Calif.