Faculty selected for endowed professorships

Fourteen faculty members have been named to endowed professorships, effective July 1.  They are:

  • Victor Kofi Agawu, the Hughes-Rogers Professor of Music.
  • David Bellos, the Meredith Howland Pyne Professor of French Literature.
  • Elizabeth Gavis, the Damon B. Pfeiffer Professor in the Life Sciences.
  • Daniel Garber, the A. Watson Armour, III University Professor of Philosophy.
  • Zemer Gitai, the Edwin Grant Conklin Professor of Biology.
  • Hans Halvorson, the Stuart Professor of Philosophy.
  • Lars Hedin, the George M. Moffett Professor of Biology.
  • Wendy Heller, the Scheide Professor of Music History.
  • Mark Johnston, the Henry Putnam University Professor of Philosophy.
  • Joshua Katz, Cotsen Professor in the Humanities.
  • Simon Levin, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology.
  • Anne McClintock, the A. Barton Hepburn Professor of Gender and Sexuality Studies.
  • Tracy Smith, the Roger S. Berlind '52 Professor in the Humanities.
  • James Stone, the Lyman Spitzer Jr., Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics.