Eight named American Academy of Arts and Sciences fellows

Eight Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among 213 leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected in recognition of contributions to their respective fields.

The Princeton faculty members are: Thomas Silhavy, the Warner-Lambert Parke-Davis Professor of Molecular Biology; John Darley, the Dorman T. Warren Professor of Psychology; Susan Fiske, professor of psychology; Mark Watson, professor of economics and public affairs; Harold Vincent Poor, professor of electrical engineering; Gilbert Harman, the Stuart Professor of Philosophy; Robert Hollander, professor emeritus of European literature and French and Italian; and Susan Stewart, professor of English.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780 and currently has 4,000 fellows, including more than 160 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.