FACULTY AWARD: Eight named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Eight Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among 212 leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected this year in recognition of contributions to their respective fields.

Among those elected this year are the following Princeton faculty members: W. Jason Morgan, the Knox Taylor Professor of Geology Emeritus and Professor of Geophysics Emeritus; Howard Stone, the Donald R. Dixon '69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Edward Felten, professor of computer science and public affairs; Roland Benabou, the Theodore A. Wells '29 Professor of Economics and Public Affairs; Thomas Romer, professor of politics and public affairs; Daniel Garber, the Stuart Professor of Philosophy; Stanley Corngold, professor of German and comparative literature emeritus; and P. Adams Sitney, professor of the visual arts. Also listed among Princeton faculty inductees by the Academy was, Mario Vargas Llosa, who was the 2010 Distinguished Visitor in the Program in Latin American Studies and Class of 1932 Visiting Lecturer in Creative Writing in the fall 2010 semester.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780, and has more than 4,600 members, including more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 1, at the Academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.