FACULTY HONOR: Seven named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

President Christopher L. Eisgruber and six other Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected this year in recognition of their contributions to their respective fields.

The following University faculty members have been selected this year:

  • Neta Bahcall, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Astrophysics and professor of astrophysical sciences;
  • Charles Cameron, professor of politics and public affairs; co-director, Center for the Study of Democratic Politics;
  • Janet Currie, the Henry Putnam Professor of Economics and Public Affairs; director, Center for Health and Wellbeing;
  • Eisgruber, president;
  • David Gabai, the Hughes-Rogers Professor of Mathematics;
  • Susan Naquin, professor history and East Asian Studies emeritus; and
  • Robert Socolow, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering emeritus; senior research scholar.

The current membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, founded in 1780, includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 11 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.