FACULTY AWARD: Eight named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Eight Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among 198 leaders in scholarship, business, science, the arts and public affairs elected this year in recognition of their contributions to their specific fields.

Among those elected this year are the following Princeton faculty members: Jeffrey Eugenides, professor of creative writing in the Lewis Center for the Arts; Robert Kaster, the Kennedy Foundation Professor of Latin Language and Literature and professor of classics; Naomi Leonard, the Edwin S. Wilsey Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Stephen Macedo, the Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Politics and the University Center for Human Values; Jennifer Rexford, the Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor in Engineering and professor of computer science; Yoshiaki Shimizu, the Frederick Marquand Professor of Art and Archaeology, Emeritus; Michael Smith, the McCosh Professor of Philosophy; and Leonard Wantchekon, professor of politics.

The membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, founded in 1780, includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 12 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.