FACULTY HONOR: Seven named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Seven Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected this year in recognition of their contributions to their respective fields.  

The following University faculty members have been selected this year:  

  • Brandice Canes-Wrone, the Donald E. Stokes Professor in Public and International Affairs, professor of politics and public affairs, and vice dean of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs;
  • Jill Dolan, dean of the college, the Annan Professor in English, and professor of theater in the Lewis Center for the Arts;
  • Denis Feeney, the Giger Professor of Latin, professor of classics, and chair of the Council of the Humanities;
  • Joanne Gowa, the William P. Boswell Professor of World Politics of Peace and War and professor of politics;
  • G. John Ikenberry, the Albert G. Milbank Professor of Politics and International Affairs;
  • János Kollár, the Donner Professor of Science and professor of mathematics; and
  • Kim Lane Scheppele, the Laurance S. Rockefeller Professor of Sociology and International Affairs and the University Center for Human Values.

The membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, founded in 1780, includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 8 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.