Nine named fellows of American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Nine Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among the 229 leaders in the sciences, the humanities and the arts, business, public affairs and the nonprofit sector elected this year in recognition of contributions to their respective fields.

Princeton's inductees are:

  • Carles Boix, professor of politics and public affairs;

  • Adam Burrows, professor of astrophysical sciences;

  • Lynn Enquist, the Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology, chair of the department and professor in the Princeton Neuroscience Institute;

  • Hal Foster, the Townsend Martin, Class of 1917, Professor of Art and Archaeology;

  • David Huse, professor of physics;

  • Chung Law, the Robert H. Goddard Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering;

  • James Marrow, professor of art and archaeology emeritus;

  • Nolan McCarty, the Susan Dod Brown Professor of Politics and Public Affairs and associate dean of the Woodrow Wilson School; and

  • Wolfgang Pesendorfer, the Theodore A. Wells '29 Professor of Economics.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an independent policy research center, was founded in 1780 and currently has 4,600 members, including more than 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. The new class of fellows will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 9 at the academy's headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.