Four juniors named Goldwater Scholars

April 5, 2011 6:50 p.m.

Four Princeton juniors have been awarded Goldwater Scholarships, the premier undergraduate award for outstanding students interested in careers in mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering.

The 2010-11 Princeton winners are Christina Chang, a chemistry major from Austin, Texas; Natalie Jia Guo, a molecular biology major from Baltimore; Anna Patej, a physics major from Aliso Viejo, Calif.; and Sean Sketch, a mechanical and aerospace engineering major from Durham, N.C.

One- and two-year Goldwater scholarships cover tuition, fees, books and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year. The Princeton recipients are among 275 scholarship winners selected from a field of 1,095 students nationwide.

The scholarship program honoring Sen. Barry Goldwater was created as part of the Goldwater Foundation, a federally endowed agency created by an act of Congress in 1986. Recent Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 77 Rhodes Scholarships, 108 Marshall Awards, 98 Churchill Scholarships and numerous other distinguished fellowships.