FACULTY AWARD: Six professors named 2011 AAAS fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has selected six Princeton professors as fellows for 2011. In the natural sciences, the associaton named Bryan Grenfell, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, and public affairs; John Storey, associate professor of molecular biology and the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics; and Ned Wingreen, professor of molecular biology and the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics. In engineering, the new fellows from Princeton are Pablo Debenedetti, the Class of 1950 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science, professor of chemical and biological engineering and vice dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science; William Russel, the Arthur W. Marks '19 Professor of Chemical Engineering and dean of the Graduate School; and Alexander Smits, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and chair of the mechanical and aerospace engineering department. 

The professors are being honored by AAAS for their efforts toward advancing distinguished science applications. Grenfell for contributions in epidemiology and exploring the dynamics of disease; Storey for his work in computational biology; and Wingreen for his focus on systems biology. Debenedetti was recognized for his research on chemical engineering thermodynamics; Russel for his notable work in colloid science and graduate education; and Smits for distinguished contributions to the field of turbulence. The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Each of the six professors was nominated by one of the society's steering groups, selected as a finalist, then chosen by the society council. All 539 2011 fellows will be recognized during the AAAS Annual Meeting Feb. 18, 2012, in Vancouver, Canada.