Committees set for Special Task Force on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Chairs and members have been chosen for the steering committee and three working groups that are part of the Council of the Princeton University Community Special Task Force on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

The steering committee and working groups were formed as part of the CPUC executive committee's efforts as charged by President Christopher L. Eisgruber to improve policies and procedures on diversity and inclusion and to seek ways to enhance public dialogue about racial equality, diversity and other topics important to the University community and the nation.

Provost David S. Lee chairs the steering committee. General Counsel Ramona Romero and junior Cameron Bell are co-chairs of the policy and transparency working group. Dean of the College Valerie Smith and Ricardo Hurtado, a graduate student at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, chair the academics and awareness group. Alison Gammie, senior lecturer in molecular biology, and sophomore Asanni York chair the supports and structures group.

Lee announced the committee appointments at the CPUC meeting on Monday, Feb. 9.

Also at the meeting, Vice Provost Michele Minter announced that the Task Force on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion is encouraging members of the University community to share their experiences and opinions on diversity and inclusion in a new section of the institutional equity and diversity website.