FACULTY HONOR: Three faculty elected to National Academy of Sciences

May 11, 2016 3:15 p.m.

Three Princeton University faculty have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research, joining 84 new members nationwide and 21 foreign associates. The members from Princeton are Roberto Car, the Ralph W. *31 Dornte Professor in Chemistry and the Princeton Institute for the Science and Technology of Materials; Igor Klebanov, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics and associate director of the Princeton Center for Theoretical Science; and Stanislas Leibler, a professor at the Institute for Advanced Study and a Princeton visiting lecturer with the rank of professor in physics. The latest election brings the total number of active NAS members to 2,291.