FACULTY HONOR: Seven named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Seven Princeton faculty members have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are among 228 leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected this year in recognition of their contributions to their respective fields.

The following University faculty members have been selected this year:

  • Michael Aizenman, the Thomas D. Jones Professor of Mathematical Physics and professor of physics and mathematics; 
  • Manjul Bhargava, the Brandon Fradd, Class of 1983, Professor of Mathematics;
  • Anne Case, the Alexander Stewart 1886 Professor of Economics and Public Affairs;
  • Dalton Conley, the Henry Putnam University Professor in Sociology;
  • Yannis Kevrekidis, the Pomeroy and Betty Perry Smith Professor in Engineering and professor of chemical and biological engineering;
  • Eldar Shafir, the Class of 1987 Professor in Behavioral Science and Public Policy and professor of psychology and public affairs; and
  • Suzanne Staggs, the Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the country's oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing the nation and the world. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 7 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.