Lewis Arts Center buildings

Six Princeton arts faculty, guest artists and alumni win Tony Awards

Roger S. Berlind

Roger S. Berlind

Six current and recent Program in Theater and Program in Music Theater faculty and guest artists in the Lewis Center for the Arts and alumni earned Tony Awards for their work on Broadway at the June 9 Tony Awards ceremony.

They are:

  • Rachel Hauck

    Rachel Hauck

    Roger S. Berlind, a 1952 alumnus, and William Berlind, a member of the Class of 1995, principals of Berlind Productions, producer of “Oklahoma!,” Best Revival of a Musical;
  • Rachel Hauck, lecturer in theater, “Hadestown,” Best Scenic Design of a Musical;
  • Mara Isaacs

    Mara Isaacs

    Mara Isaacs, visiting lecturer in theater, producer of “Hadestown”;
  • Jessica Paz

    Jessica Paz

    Jessica Paz, guest artist (sound design for “Picnic at Hanging Rock,” Feb. 2018), “Hadestown,” Best Sound Design of a Musical; and
  • Jordan Roth

    Jordan Roth

    Jordan Roth, a 1997 alumnus, president of Jujamcyn Theaters, producer of “Hadestown,” Best Musical.

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards got their start in 1947 when the Wing established an awards program to celebrate excellence in the theater. Named for Antoinette Perry, an actress, director, producer and the wartime leader of the American Theatre Wing who had recently passed away, the Tony Awards made their official debut at a dinner in the Grand Ballroom of the Waldorf Astoria hotel on Easter Sunday, April 6, 1947. The telecast is now broadcast on six continents.