FACULTY AWARD: MacMillan receives Mitsui catalysis award

David MacMillan, the A. Barton Hepburn Professor of Organic Chemistry, has been named the winner of the 2011 Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Award. The award was established in 2004 with the aim of recognizing researchers who have made outstanding achievements in catalysis science. MacMillan, who also is chair of the Department of Chemistry, was cited for developing the concept of organocatalysis and for playing a central role in his field. An award ceremony will be held in March in Kisarazu City, Japan, at the fifth annual Mitsui Chemicals International Symposium on Catalysis Science.