Board approves four promotions

The Board of Trustees has approved the promotions of four faculty members. The faculty members and their departments, by the academic rank to which they are being promoted, are:

Professor -- M. Zahid Hasan, physics.

Associate professor (with continuing tenure) -- David Blei, computer science; Manuel Llinás, molecular biology and the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics.

Assistant professor (for a term of three and a half years)
-- Kathryn Gin, religion.

All promotions were effective July 1, 2011, except for Gin's, which was effective Feb. 1, 2011.