FACULTY AWARD: Ostriker, Page receive 2015 Gruber Prize in Cosmology

Princeton University researchers Jeremiah Ostriker and Lyman Page, Jr. are recipients of the 2015 Gruber Prize in Cosmology for their work in reshaping how scientists understand the origin, composition and dynamics of the universe. Ostriker, the Charles A. Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation, Emeritus, was recognized for theoretical work during the past 50 years that has "clarified our understanding of galactic structure and evolution, dark matter, the intergalactic medium and high energy astrophysics," particularly the existence of dark matter. Page, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor in Physics and department chair, was honored for "providing a wealth of information about the origins and evolution of the universe" through his leadership of large-scale observation projects such as the Atacama Cosmology Telescope that gather data on of the cosmic microwave background (CMB), which is the remnant heat from the Big Bang. Ostriker received half of the $500,000 prize, and Page shares half with fellow recipient John Carlstrom, a professor of astronomy and astrophysics at the University of Chicago. Each recipient was recognized and received a gold medal at the International Astronomical Union general assembly held in Honolulu Aug. 3. The Gruber cosmology prize was established in 2000 by the Yale University-based Gruber Foundation and recipients are nominated by colleagues from around the world. The 2015 prize marks the fourth time that Princeton researchers have received the honor.