FACULTY HONOR: Groth, Kang and Wood named AAAS Fellows

Nov. 21, 2016, 11 a.m.

Three Princeton University faculty members have been named 2016 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for thier scientifically or socially distinguished work. New fellows will be recognized during the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston in February. Recognized from Princeton were:

Edward Groth, professor of physics, emeritus, for distinguished contributions to the field of astrophysics through pioneering work on the Hubble Space Telescope, Wide Field Planetary Camera and first HST deep survey;

Yibin Kang, the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Molecular Biology, for distinguished contributions to the field of cancer metastasis research, particularly for revealing tumor-intrinsic properties and tumor-stromal interactions essentially for breast cancer metastasis; and

Eric Wood, the Susan Dod Brown Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, for the development of continental and global-scale representations of land surface hydrology, and the pioneering use of remote sensing in hydrologic modeling and prediction.