Two students named Goldwater Scholars

Two Princeton students have been awarded Goldwater Scholarships, the premier award for outstanding undergraduates interested in careers in mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering.

The 2011-12 winners are sophomore Eugene Katsevich, a mathematics major from Oviedo Fla., and junior Aman Sinha, a mechanical and aerospace engineering major from Ivyland, Pa. 

One- and two-year Goldwater Scholarships cover tuition, fees, room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year. The Princeton recipients are among 282 scholarship winners selected from a field of 1,123 students nationwide. 

The scholarship program honoring Sen. Barry Goldwater was created as part of the Goldwater Foundation, a federally endowed agency created by an act of Congress in 1986. Recent Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 78 Rhodes Scholarships, 112 Marshall Awards, 104 Churchill Scholarships and numerous other distinguished fellowships.