FACULTY AWARD: Nineteen Princeton professors named inaugural AMS Fellows

Nov. 7, 2012, 10 a.m.

The American Mathematical Society selected 19 Princeton professors to be among its inaugural class of Fellows. The class includes 1,119 researchers from more than 600 institutions worldwide.

The inducteees from Princeton are: Michael Aizenman, professor of physics and mathematics; Manjul Bhargava, the Brandon Fradd, Class of 1983, Professor of Mathematics; Peter Constantin, the William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Mathematics and Applied and Computational Mathematics; Weinan E, professor of mathematics and applied and computational mathematics; David Gabai, chair and Hughes-Rogers Professor of Mathematics; Robert Gunning, professor of mathematics; Philip Holmes, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Joseph Kohn, professor of mathematics, emeritus; Janos Kollar, the Donner Professor of Science and professor of mathematics; Elliot Lieb, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics; William Massey, the Edwin S. Wilsey Professor of Operations Research and Financial Engineering; John Moore, professor of mathematics, emeritus; John Nash Jr., senior research mathematician; Edward Nelson, professor of mathematics; Yakov Sinai, professor of mathematics; Christopher Skinner, the Henry Buchard Fine Professor of Mathematics; Elias Stein, the Albert Baldwin Dod Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus, and lecturer with the rank of professor in mathematics; Anna Wienhard, assistant professor of mathematics; and Paul Yang, professor of mathematics.